1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

hooking my iMac up to my Pioneer elite VSX 30

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by bassplayer360, Jan 26, 2012.

  1. bassplayer360

    bassplayer360 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. I have a question about hooking up my iMac to my home theater system. this is the pioneer elite VSX 30 7.1 surround sound receiver. I have it attached to a home theater projector. I want to attach my iMac to it in this way... mini display port on iMac to Mini display/hdmi adapter hdmi to receiver (video only) 3.5mm headphone jack on iMac to 3.5mm/rca cable rca plugged into vsx 30 My question, when I select the hdmi input to show the computer display, will I be able to select a different audio source (the rca cables) ? since the hdmi is delivering video only, I want to know if I will be able to achieve sound through the speakers attached to my vsx 30 Thanks a million
     
  2. dmiller68

    dmiller68 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    3
    Real Name:
    David Miller
    Why wouldn't you deliver audio over HDMI too that is how I hook my Macbook Pro to my TV. Although I do have the 2011 Macbook does your iMac not let you do audio over HDMI?
     
  3. bassplayer360

    bassplayer360 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a 2007 iMac. No audio through the mini display port
     
  4. bassplayer360

    bassplayer360 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a 2007 iMac. No audio through the mini display port
     
  5. bassplayer360

    bassplayer360 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a 2007 iMac. No audio through the mini display port
     
  6. bassplayer360

    bassplayer360 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow. sorry about that, My ipod went berserk.
     
  7. dmiller68

    dmiller68 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    3
    Real Name:
    David Miller
    I would assume you can set it up in your setup menu on the receiver. I'm not totally familiar with that model but I think if you go into the input menu choose what input you want to use then configure the audio and video inputs.
     
  8. dmiller68

    dmiller68 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    3
    Real Name:
    David Miller
    Page 44 of the user manual should help you get there. IT may require a little experimentation.
     

Share This Page