What's new

Think I did pretty good with this craigslist find. Need a lil help though. (1 Viewer)

bstrang6

Grip
Real Name
Brock Strang
I just bought a DENON AVR1708, two KLH towers that have 15 inch speakers in them, A klh powered sub, and a big AR center channel. I ended up getting the whole set up, for 180 bucks.
I have it all hooked up and went through the set up with the mic, and think it sounds pretty bitchin! Very happy with my purchase. I would like to ad some rear channels. I just have some questions.
Is 7.1 worth it, or do you think 5.1 will be fine? If I go 5.1 I could run a second zone. To some speakers in my back yard next summer.
What do I need to look for in a set of speakers for the rear? Will any speaker work? Or is there characteristics I want to look for.
How are the speakers I bought? They sound awesome to me but I'm new to this, and I've never heard of the brand.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Yes that is a good deal. Long in the tooth AVR(by current standards), but very good for the price.
Depending where you are, I have some AR(depends what AR you have, as there is more than one company that can be abbreviated AR) speakers that would work as rears...that are collecting dust.
5.1 or 7.1 is personal choice. As there are "two different schools of thought" for 7.1.
Personally, unless you buy a BD player with analog audio 8 channel output...no point in 7.1(just my opinion).

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
By the way, here is one with 6 channel...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Panasonic-DMP-BD85-Blu-Ray-Player-used-no-remote-good-condition-/380479801727?pt=DVD_Players_Recorders&hash=item58965d097f

bstrang6

Grip
Real Name
Brock Strang
IMG_20121009_114450.jpg

IMG_20121009_123928.jpg

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
That subwoofer is almost pointless...
Looks good though.