What's new

Noob questions! (1 Viewer)

bdaabat

Auditioning
Real Name
Bruce Anderson
Howdy folks! I'm a complete noob who is in a tough spot and would appreciate assistance from the veterans of the board.

Am trying to get a decent sounding 5.1 HT set up in the basement. it's not a big space... maybe 14 * 10. Don't need to move a lot of air.

The issue? Cash. As in, there just isn't much available for a more detailed HT setup.

I would appreciate some suggestions from the group about what I could consider for a very modest home theater setup. The budget is ~ $600. We don't have a Blu Ray player but would like one.

It seems that folks here like the Onkyo TX-SR 508 for a decent entry level receiver. Any other suggestions?

Speakers: I just have no idea where to begin.

Blu Ray players: any recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Bruce

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Here's a link to the Onkyo products (receivers, speakers and receiver/speaker packages) from ac4l.com. Most of the receivers are refurbished models but they come with a one year warranty from Onkyo. As you can see, you can save a lot of money this way. The 5300 refurb is only $299, regularly $599. Not the greatest but it comes with a receiver close to the 508 and the speakers and subwoofer are almost adequate .

Tigerdirect.com also carries Onkyo's packages with Klipsch, Jamo and a couple of other speakers but they are a bit more expensive than the Onkyo speaker packages and that might not leave much for the BluRay player. Some of the Jamo speakers are without the sub woofer as well.

Newegg.com has great prices (though they sometimes vary from week to week) on Polk Monitor series speakers. Avoid Polk subwoofers in your price range. You can do better.

Those who have heard Fluance.com speakers say they are pretty good for the price.