What's new
Signup for GameFly to rent the newest 4k UHD movies!

No more standalone version of Lightroom (1 Viewer)

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
Adobe has announced their new version of Lightroom, and it will only be available via their cloud-based subscription service. There will be no standalone version of Lightroom -- the current version 6 is the last standalone versions and will only be supported through the end of this year.

I have been using Lightroom for many years. I never upgraded to LR6 -- I am still on LR5.7. I had planned on upgrading to LR7 when it was released, but now I need to start looking for alternatives. The subscription model doesn't work for me. I paid about $75 to upgrade to LR5 from version 4 three years ago, and was planning on spending about $80 to upgrade to LR7. In those three years, I would have spent $360 on Adobe's subscription service for the essentially same software.

I found an offer for a free license for DxO OpticsPro 11 Essentials, so I downloaded that and plan on giving it a try. Anyone have any other suggestions?

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
Switching isn't crazy talk for me, Sam. Adobe just more than quadrupled the price for me to use Lightroom. That is unacceptable to me. I will not move to their subscription service. My choices are to either upgrade to Lightroom version 6 for $80 to get me by for the next few years while I look for something else, or find something else sooner. I have not decided which way I'll go yet. I hate the idea of giving Adobe any more of my money because of their decision, but it may be the most practical solution for now.

I recently upgraded my Photoshop Elements from version 10 to the new 2018 version when I bought a new PC. I wish I hadn't done that now, and had just continued using the old version.

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member
I'm in Scott's shoes too. Still using LR 5.7, and PS CS6 (I know, ancient software!!!!)