What's new
World Wide Stereo

MY FIRST HD DVD PLAYER !! QUESTIONS,SUGGESTIONS PLEASE (1 Viewer)

f1nuts

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
jason cottee
this is my first time at this sight, ... so any help, advice is greatly appreciated....since i now have a shiny new toshiba hd-a20 i could not wait to get it fired up , i bought the 42 inch 720p toshiba plasma a few months ago ..so good to go or so i thought !.....after initial set up via hdmi from player to plasma tv, i stuck in van helsing h/d for the kids and me to enjoy......to say the least was well dissapointed, everything that was dark in color or in the shadows , was supposed to be black, but was actually more of a burgandy dark brown-ish color ?...infact it stood out so much i could barely carry on watching it ....i went thru set up again , changed resolution etc etc...still the same, so bought another new hdmi cable also...no change ?....basically anything that is in darkness or shadow is patchy as hell and burgandy in color.....i am guessing this is not normal ! ( hoping ) as my old progresive sony playr was awesome and never flawed the picture in anyway , infact was near as damm it h/d on some movies...after hours of head scratching, i went to the tv adjustment, turned down the brightness and although certainly it makes the whole picture darker , it has now got black were it should be black !...was this just my mistake or is it something that needs to be sorted out eleswere.........do i need to head back to best buy and try another unit .........whilst i am here !....is it best to set at 720p for both tv and player ( tv 720p )...or do i go for the 1080i from the player as tv can handle that ???....thanks in advance , apologies if it is a long thread - but the wife will kill me if the picture does not improve !..:frowning:

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

powerlord

Agent
Real Name
mark