What's new

Mexican Aztec Mummy Trilogy Box set in Blu ray...from VCI - Coming soon!! (1 Viewer)

Capt D McMars

Bernuli Tech Vet
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Todd Doc Sigmier
Growing up as a kid in Los Angeles I would watch these fun and often times goofy Mexican Horror and Sci-Fi movies translated into english by K. Gordon Murray. Shown late at night on local channels like KHJ, KTTV and many UHF stations...if you can remember those? I have a soft spot for all of these and it seems one company is taking th lead with many Mexican classics, not just the horror sci-fi genres.
VCI has been releasing some amazing remastered editions to such titles as "Batwoman" and "Panther Woman" both in 4K restoration from OCN. This highly overlooked genre may be nich, but well loved by many, both english and spanish speaking audiences. I was an exchange student in the late 60s and remember going to Mexico City to watch El Santo with Blue Demon, fight thier way to glory!! VCI has also released a fun box set of some of Santos best brawles, fighting against Vampiers, Monsters and the like. I was sad that one of my favorite Santo films, Santo vs the Martians, was not in the box set, but I have heard that there might be a seperate release of this title soon!!
all that said, I just caught wind of this new box set to help replace the DVD set that BCI did back in 2006. The fun and wierd world that is all things Aztec Mummy!!!

This HD box set is scheduled to drop July 19th, ans according to sources close to the project that this release will be "2K & 4K scans of the 35mm negs, bonus video essay by Dr. David Wilt, Film Historian and Mexican Film Expert" ( David was also used in many of the other new releases to add even more interesting info nuggets about the films).
I hope you are as happy as I am, and can dive into the crazy world of Lucha Libre Madness!!

Attachments

• 81gBh0hCLqL._SL1500_.jpg
    81gBh0hCLqL._SL1500_.jpg
    373.6 KB · Views: 60

timk1041

Screenwriter
Real Name