What's new
World Wide Stereo

How can you tell if your system is reaching its potential? (1 Viewer)

EricDeB

Stunt Coordinator
Hey guys I'm very satisfied my system and I've been calibrating it successfully. The thing is, how do I know if it's reaching its full potential? I'm not an expert in high end stereo equipment by any means so I really have no idea. I'm assuming there are only ways to tell if it isn't at its potential, but any advice on this would be great.

Thanks
Eric

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Leo Kerr

Screenwriter
In the words of Duke Ellington, "if it sounds good, it is good."

It's probably the safest (at least for your wallet) way to operate.

Leo

GeorgeAB

Supporting Actor
Real Name
G. Alan Brown
EricDeB,

Do your homework! One of the biggest limitations to equipment performance is the room. Much info is readily available about hardware. Far too little is understood about the HUGE effect room acoustics, equipment placement, room lighting, decor, etc. have upon system performance. Many improvements can be realized with little or no cost. Poor listening and viewing environment conditions can seriously contaminate and diminish hardware performance. When environmental conditions are optimum, even modest equipment can perform surprisingly better.

Only you know what your room conditions are. Therefore, you are the one who needs to understand what to do. You can hire professionals to evaluate what would be needed, or you can start learning what you can. It takes time for professionals to learn what to do for proper system design. You can invest your time toward that end or pay someone else who has invested theirs. It won't be necessary for you to understand how to optimize every room, just yours. That will simplify the quest to a large degree. However, like any field of study, you have to understand the fundamentals in order to judge what's suitable for your system.