What's new

Connection help needed - thought I was a pro - am not. (1 Viewer)

dejanribic

Auditioning
Real Name
Dejan
Hey guys!

I need some help from this fine community you have going here!

The last time I tinkered with home AV was about 5 years ago.

At that time I set everything up with my PC, AVR + 5.1 setup, PS3 and FRESH NEW 1080p TV, bitstreaming from the PC to the TV over HDMI 1.3, playing games on the PS3, everything running on the TV and 5.1 speakers through the AVR!

It all worked beautifully up until a couple of days ago when I tore everything apart having come into some new gear!

Namely - a PS4 Slim, a UHD TV (LG 55UH661V-ZF) and some new PC components (ASUS GeForce GTX 970 STRIX, Intel i5 4590 CPU), and a 144hz monitor coming soon.

The one thing I haven't replaced is my good ol' AVR - the Yamaha RX-V467, and the Harman Kardon 5.1 speaker setup.

Now - why am I coming to you guys?

I need help connecting everything.

Not the physical connections - I can run cables myself, but how I should set up everything now that my PC monitor and TV have different resolutions, framerates, needs etc.

This is everything I have - visualised:

http://i.imgur.com/Uh3U9Ra.png

Now, on to what I want to do:

1. Game on the TV with the PS4, with sound coming through my 5.1 setup (so decoding of sound done in the AVR)

2. Stream content to the TV (Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, HBO, Youtube) - in 4K.

3. Play content from my PC's HDD (mostly 2160p and 1080p .mkvs) - this one is important as (living in Serbia) sometimes that's the only way to get some shows etc.

4. Game on my PC using the (soon to arrive) 144hz monitor.
  • All the while have all three monitors, PS4, AVR and the TV connected, so no cable fiddling while devices are live.