What's new

How to set the best setting for my HTiB? (1 Viewer)

Asfur

Auditioning
Real Name
Hengky
Hi, to be honest i'm not a pro pro in sound system technic and information. So i need your help to help me setup the best setting for my HTiB. So i will explain a little bit about my home theater condition. What i have is :

1. LG 3D Smart TV 42LM7600 series. It has optical output and hdmi arc, and a Dolby Digital Decoder. When i look at the manual. It says a DTS signal from movie will read as Dolby digital only and not a DTS.
2. Sony HT-SL7, it is an old model, i bought it maybe around 10 years back. But it is already Dolby Digital, Dolby Prologic, and DTS support for sound decoder. This model only a receiver and doesn't have a disc player.
3. I just bought few days ago to replace my old Sony, it is LG DH6330P. I thought a newer HT will bring me a better performace and audio compare to oldies one. (I'm simply think like in early 2000 it still pentium era, now its already icore 5 in pentium laptop, so it give better in everything). After bought it, and deeply look at the spec, i realize that it has only DD decoder with even no Dolby Prologic II (not to mention it doesn't have DTS)

So before i replace my HT, here is the setting in my HT. I use HDD to play a movie in mkv file, some of it have a DTS sound. In the TV, it doesnt matter if i setup the Digital Audio Output into Auto or PCM, it still produce sound in my Sony HT. I connect the TV to HT with digital optic (Toslink). When i choose Auto, if DTS sound is detected, it will light, if no DTS then it will not light on.

After i change to LG HT, when i play the DTS movie, it will not produce sound until i change the Digital Audio Output into PCM. There some question that still makes me confuse :
1. Is that mean with this HT i can only get a "fake 5.1" sound, since PCM only send 2.0/stereo sound, and my LG tried to interpolate to 5.1. from 2.0 channel?