What's new

Zalytron or Audire speaker kits? (1 Viewer)

Larry Noud

Grip
I have been toying with the idea of building my own mains,center channel and surround speakers from the kits available from the above.I currently have the Legacy 1`s (now called the Classic`s) for my mains and the Silver Screen center and Definitive BPX rears.I have no knowledge of speaker building with kits and I want to know if these kits have the cabinets precut for the drivers ect.Plus how hard is it to assemble the crossovers.
I do not want to spend a fortune on this project and any input would be appreciated.Thank you

AjayM

Screenwriter
Well, first you get a lot of bang for your buck by building your own. But before you set out on such a project, I think you first will need to define a few things, like what your budget is going to be, what kind of sound you like, and how much of the DIY part you can do.
An entire Adire front end will only cost you around $500-525 for the kits, this represents an outstanding value. However Adire has no pre-cut/built cabinets, so you will have to arrange for that, either do it yourself with some help from a woodworking friend, or talk to a cabinet maker, wood-shop in your area to see if they can handle it for you, the kits are fairly easy to build, so the cost shouldn't be to bad to have cabinets built. The cross-overs do come pre-built, so it's really just a plug and play arrangement now.
Zalytron offers so many different kits that without being specific to one it's hard to say, but if you went with something like the Focal home theater kit for the front end will cost you around $1500, or you could start to mix and match and go with an Aria 7 and the Center channel kit which will drop the prices down to around $1100. So there is a huge difference in price there. The big advantage of Zalytron is that he has cabinets available for almost all the kits he sells. So the Aria 7 cabinet is $550pr, and the center channel is $325.