What's new

Why can't I tell difference between upscaled DVD and Blu Ray movie (1 Viewer)

biglovin373

Auditioning
Real Name
Kyle
I have the new TC-P42X3 42" Panasonic Plasma 720p... Now I know there are many debates over weather 720 or 1080p makes a difference or not in 42" TV's, and I'm curious if maybe that is my issue.

Ive been watching seasons 1 and 2 of Dexter on this TV and had them in DVD... I have an LG Blu-ray player. I just bought the 3rd season on Blu-ray and began watching it last night and could tell no difference between that and the DVD's I had been watching.

Is it possibly settings... or is it because I have a 720p tv and not 1080p.

Please enlighten me.

biglovin373

Auditioning
Real Name
Kyle
Originally Posted by TravisR

I'm no expert but take a look in the player's menu and see if the video output is set for 1080i or 1080p rather than 525. I know my player was set for SD setting when I first got it.

I did that this morning and set it to 1080i... it was on automatic before that. Would it have anything to do with the Blu-ray... are some Blu-rays produced in better quality than others. For instance right now I'm watching Inception and I can tell a little difference... Would Inception in Blu-ray be in better quality than Dexter in Blu-ray?

Cinescott

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Scott
There is definitely a difference between 720p and 1080 on a 42". I have a 42", 1080p set and can quickly tell when something is not in 1080. Don't get me wrong, 720 looks pretty good, but it would strike me as similar to the difference between DVD @ 480 and 720. Quite a bump in resolution and noticeable.

biglovin373

Auditioning
Real Name
Kyle
Originally Posted by Cinescott