What's new

Why are tube amps better? (1 Viewer)

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
Ryan, like anything, I don't think you will find that all people prefer tubes. Those that do often say that tubes give a warmer, more natural sound than solid-state components. I have limited experience with tube amps and pre-amps, but I will be setting up my parents' vintage Marantz tube separates in my main stereo system in the near future. It is my hope that I will experience what many others have with tubes in relation to solid-state gear. I am current using an NAD solid-state set-up (C 370 integrated amp biamped with a C 270 power amp). To my ears, the NAD gear sounds great, but the Marantz tube components should be better.

Robert_Dufresne

Stunt Coordinator
Keith
I was looking at the pictures of your equipment and I
noticed a Denon 370 CD changer.
I am looking to buy one for myself so I would like
to know if you like it.
Sorry if this is not related to thread.
Robert:D

Steve Zimmerman

Second Unit
It is my opinion that there are psychological reasons for preferring one type of sound over another. I recently read a review of a very expensive tube preamp in which their very famous and highly-pedigreed designers are decidedly NOT fans of tubes. The irony of their stated goal (which was "to make a tube preamp and have it be as good as solid state") was apparently lost on the reviewer.

Based on the stuff on display at CES this last year, it's my opinion that we are in something of a renaissance period in audio--in much the same way that modern fly fishermen have lately become enamored of using antique-style rods made of bamboo instead of modern graphite and carbon-fibre.

I have a hard time believing that all these professional engineers that have spent their entire lives designing equipment are just now suddenly seeing the light and realizing that OH MY GOSH we've been deluding ourselves these last 30 years and tubes really are better.