What's new

Who has the S&V cal disc, and is it worth it? (1 Viewer)

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I've been using VE for plenty of years, but it lacks a sub frequency sweep and the sound portion is not very informative (way too basic). I haven't broken down and bought Avia because it is around $50 locally. I was at the all-in-one (Fry's) the other day and they had S&V for $15. If it has most of what Avia does, then I might pick one up.

Juan M

Stunt Coordinator
I have this disk and used it to tune my Sony Wega. I'm new to HT and don't have any audio equipment (yet) but I found this to be a very informative DVD. Supposedly it has most of the testing patterns from Avia and new audio tests (6.1) that Avia doesn't have. You can check this thread from over on Sound & Vision forums for more details.
http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/cgi...c&f=3&t=000560
I think it was $15 well spent...got mine at Fry's, too.

Bobby T

Supporting Actor
It does have most of what Avia does. It has seperate test tones for DD and DTS including EX, ES matrix, and ES discrete. It's worth $15 easily.

Troy_K

Stunt Coordinator
I also own it, and it's fantastic! Easy to use, and well included. The bonus demonstration features are worth the price alone.

Troy

Greg Br

Second Unit
Having the extras such as all the thx, dolby demos is nice.

I am confused as it says to calibrate using a radio shack meter then set it to 70db's and make sure the needle reads to the right of zero. It makes no mention of reference and I believe to reach reference you need to go to 85db's. does anyone else have an opinion with this.

Troy_K

Stunt Coordinator
The THX intro included on this disc is the same one used in the Phantom Menace, and this has some of the most serious bass ever recorded per the report on SVS website. It shakes my house big-time.