What's new

Which aspect ratio to buy? (1 Viewer)

Marshall Sander

Stunt Coordinator
This is a newbie question as I am just beginning to buy dvds for my collection. I have a 16x9 television.

Example: There are at least two versions of The Matrix on dvd. Both are anamorphic. One is offered in a 2.35:1 aspect ratio, the other is in a 1.85:1 aspect ratio.

I know that the 1.85:1 is 16x9. Does this mean that the 1.85:1 ratio dvd will completely fill the screen?

Will the 2.35:1 ratio dvd end up with black bars on my 16x9 monitor?

Which is the better choice, and why?

Thanks in advance.

Johnny G

Supporting Actor
There are virtually never 2 different ratio anamorphic presenatations of the same film.

General opinion is the Director shot the film with an intentional viewing ratio and that's the best way to watch it so you're not missing anyhting you should see or seeing anything additional that you shouldn't.

OAR rules!

Patrick McCart

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Patrick McCart
Pick the films by what you like, not what AR they're in.

It's like avoiding Citizen Kane for being mono...there's more to the movies than the viewing technology!

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
why can't i delete this post ? grrrr!
Only a few people can. :)
Marshall: Even with your 16:9 display, be prepared to live with black bars--even though they may be smaller. As long as there is no single universal aspect ratio for film itself, there can be no eschewing the black bars on even a widescreen set.

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member
I think he's looking at Matrix revisited, which is 1.78:1
as his other version. MR is basically an extras disc

Marshall Sander

Stunt Coordinator
This is incorrect. There is only one version of The Matrix available on DVD, in only one aspect ratio. There's only one choice, and it's the correct one.
Damin, according to information I found on dvdempire.com there are two versions of The Matrix and they have the different aspect ratios I discussed above.