What's new

Where to live in the United States of America? (1 Viewer)

Mark Larson

Supporting Actor
I'm a student, a junior in college right now. I have the freedom to transfer anywhere i can afford to live - find a job to pay for part of my education, and a job after i graduate. What would you recommend? Go ahead, recommend your own state, but please don't recommend small towns - i'm in one right now - Iowa, and to put it politely, it sucks blows spews. :)
So where do i go to? New Jersey for close access to NY, CA for the 'coolness' of being in CA and near Hollywood? Or ...?
The things important to me are good living conditions (read: not much crime and good roads, along with a diverse and generally nice community), and i am ok with either near the coast or away from it, as long as i earn enough to go on a vacation once or twice a year. I am in IT, and plan to finish my Bachelor's next year, work for a while, and then do an MBA.
Of course, we also want good nightlife and hot chicks don't we?? :D :D
Where should i go?

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Bill Balcziak

Supporting Actor
Madison, WI. I can't remember a lot of details from my visits. That should tell you everything you need to know, my lad.

Jonathan Smith

Stunt Coordinator
Charlotte, NC

if you wouldn't mind a college town very near a city, check out Ann Arbor, MI (20 min or so? outside Detroit). They've got about a million students, so the diverse community, nightlife and hot chicks are definitely there.

Dan Hine

Screenwriter
I'll vouch for Charlotte as well. Or any of its surrounding communities in North and South Carolina. Great weather, good job market. And close to both the mountains and the beach when vacation time comes around.

JohnAD

Senior HTF Member
Seattle - so you can visit all of the people from California without having to live there :)
John.

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member