Where to get firmware-update for Sony 5ES?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Belgarath, Dec 23, 2002.

  1. Belgarath

    Belgarath Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can someone provide me with a link to a site where I can download Sony receiver firmware upgrades?
    I heard there is one available for the 5ES.

    Belgarath
     
  2. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the sony tae 9000es preamp which was the 1st sony that had sw updates.
    I found it by going to sony electronics website; then to customer service and look for that model.
    BTW the last one was about $100 and had an updated remote, a cable and the sw on a cd; it was not available on the internet (or even mentioned for that matter)
    If you cant find it; try the Oade Brothers call at 229-228-4480 or e-mail [email protected]
    good luck
    grant
     
  3. Seth_L

    Seth_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Take it in to your local repair shop and get them to update it for you.

    Seth
     
  4. Gil D

    Gil D Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 1999
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  5. Seth_L

    Seth_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gil,

    I fixes the DTS decoding issues the reciever has on New Line DVDs.

    Seth
     
  6. Belgarath

    Belgarath Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I heard that was the fix in the new firmware.
    However, I do not know what version the newest firmware is.
    I just checked, my 5ES has firmware version 1.40.

    Can someone confirm if this is the latest version?

    Thanks, Belgarath
     
  7. Ryan DC

    Ryan DC Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the newest firmware for the 5es is v 1.71 or 1.73 I forgot which but it is higher than 1.4.
     
  8. james e m

    james e m Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seth...
    Just curious where did you take you 5ES into? I plan on taking mine in after the new year.
    James
     
  9. Brett Miles

    Brett Miles Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 1999
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Belgarath, please seethis thread for posts by yours truly [​IMG] . I haven't yet seen anyone post that they've had the fix done other than me. It can not be found online, and the new firmware version is 1.74.
     
  10. Seth_L

    Seth_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  11. Belgarath

    Belgarath Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brett,

    I just notýced that you guys are talkýng about the Amerýcan versýon of the same receýver I have.
    I have a Sony STR-VA555ES, ýf I remember correctly ýt should be the same as the Amerýcan called 5ES.
    However, ýf I remeber correctly, the DA5ES and the VA555ES should be the same except for the 110V power supply.

    I just read the thread you posted, thank you very much for ýt.
    You saýd there you upgraded you Amerýcan 5ES from versýon 1.4 to 1.74.
    I also have versýon 1.4 on my European 555ES, however after callýng Sony`s Technýcal support, they not only saýd they know nothýng of a fýrmware upgrade, the guy even told me ýt was not possýble to upgrade my 555ES.
    I seem to remember from my manual, that ýn the RS232-descrýptýon ýt saýd ýt was meant for fýrmware upgrades.

    Now for the DVD-movýe problems.
    I have the 5 DVD versýon of Lord of the Rýngs.
    It played 6.1 (the red "6.1 decodýng" lýght was turned on) fýne when the receýver was ýn A.F.D mode.
    At the moment I am ýn Istanbul for the day, but when I get back home (ýn the Netherlands) the day after tomorrow, I,ll check what decodýng mode ýt reported wýth that DVD (I belýve ýt was 3/2+1, but wýll check to be sure).
    What I dýd notýce when playýng Lord of the Rýngs, was that when I started the movýe, the Sony reported ýt recýeved a 6.1 sýgnal from my DVDplayer but no sound was heard.
    After about a mýnute 6.1 sound came from the speakers.

    Belgarath
     

Share This Page