What's new

What games have you regretted buying lately? (1 Viewer)

Paul_D

Senior HTF Member
Since I started playing games again about 1 year ago, I can honestly say I only feel I've wasted my money twice:
1) Solider of Fortune 2: Double Helix
An absolute disaster of a game for me. I found this so frustratingly bad, that I stopped playing after maybe 2 hours and never went back. All FPS games are linear. But this is sooo linear it had me wincing with irritation. I cheated to check out some of the later levels and it really didn't get any better. :angry: Didn't like the character models, atrocious level design (the screenshots looked so good! :frowning:), bad sound effects, irritatingly repetitive enemy taunts and the most ridiculously crap stealth-mode A.I. I've ever encountered. A mistake.
Still haven't bothered getting rid of my copy. Anyone who wants it can have it for minimal cost.
2) Pikmin
Nowhere near as annoying a purchase as SOF2DH, I bought this with my Cube. There wasn't really anything else I wanted, and it looked cool, and came from the king game producer. I enjoyed it for a while, and I liked the 'cuteness' of it, but it got old very fast, and I never felt compelled to finish it. Certainly not a bad game, but not as magical as the other Cube titles I own.
So, what have you guys regretted spending your green on?

Chris Flynn

Second Unit
SoF2 has some of the BEST multiplayer gaming ever. After playing it MP, I never even bothered to play SP.

As far as the graphics in SoF2, do you have a decent PC? I crank all details up and it's one of the best looking games out there. Well, it was until UT2K3 came out.

I do agree with you about the AI though. The jungle level is annoying since the enemy always can always (it seems) see you and kill you. Other than that, I thought it was a very good game.

As far as games I regret buying?