Trigger Question

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Ray_C, Jan 24, 2004.

  1. Ray_C

    Ray_C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello All,

    Got a question about the trigger function on a Marantz MM9000 5-channel amp. Bear with me on this one. The amp has an RCA jack for a trigger in that's marked as 'video signal', originally intended for hookup to the composite video out of a TV or monitor out of a receiver. The manual states that this same trigger jack can be used for other trigger signals, from 5V to 13V. I'm using a Denon AVR-2803 as a pre/pro, and its trigger out is a mini-plug (typical 1/8" mini-headphone-type) that's marked as 12V max. Can I use the 2803's trigger out via mini-plug to RCA plug adaptor to control the 'power on' and 'standby' on the MM9000? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Craig_Kg

    Craig_Kg Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should be fine.
     
  3. Ray_C

    Ray_C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply, Craig. Just wanted to make sure I had the right approach.
     
  4. Ray_C

    Ray_C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Works perfectly. Thanks.
     
  5. Leo

    Leo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Along this same line, I have a similar question, but I have 5 monoblock amps and 3 triggers from my pre/pro NAD T163. I want to trigger the 5 Marantz monoblocks. What's the best way to accomplish this?

    Nevermind. I looked at the Marantz MA500 manual and found the picture I wanted. It shows a Marantz Preamp with a single remote connection and the monoblocks have a D-Bus (remote signal via RCA) in and out to send the signal from each amp to the next one in the chain. Sweet. Now all I need are the cables to hook this up.
     
  6. George Caronan

    George Caronan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ray C.,

    Glad you asked this question as I was trying to do the same thing using my AVR5800. I guess I'll be going to Radio Shack to get an adapter.
     
  7. Leo

    Leo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well after further research it turns out that the Marantz Monoblocks us a proprietary remote trigger which can not be switched by other pre/pros (that sucks, but such is life). Just another reason to sell off these 5 amps and get myself the NAD T973.
     
  8. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Leo,

    Your other alternative is to get some other Marantz amp that can accept a 12V or video trigger, like the MA-6100 or MA-700 monoblocks. The MA-6100 replaced the MA-500, and they have virtually identical specs, but the MA-6100 can accept a 12V trigger. From there, you can have the MA-6100 trigger the other MA-500s.

    An option should you decide you like the MA-500s and plan on a 7.1 setup.

    Michael
     
  9. George Caronan

    George Caronan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This sucks. I bought the RCA adapter then realized that the Denon AVR5800 does not have a friggin' trigger but just a remote out to a second zone. Totally useless for the MM9000. What can be used as trigger? Video sensing won't cut it. Aaarrrggghhh. There is an amp out on it though but I don't know what kind of cord to use since the manual is a disaster in that area. Help!
     
  10. Michael__M

    Michael__M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    George ,

    I have read others using a 12v adapter plugged into the switched outlets on their reciever to achieve a 12v trigger.
     

Share This Page