What's new

TAE9000ES too bright, would EQ help? (1 Viewer)

Simon Ngan

Stunt Coordinator
I haven't been playing around with the EQ built-in to TAE9000ES, but I found the 9000ES too bright for my taste for 2-ch music. I have no experience in adjusting EQ so I don't know where to start.

I can understand the final adjustments would be depending on the room but I'd like some pointers as to what frequency should I start messing around with? Thanks,

Simon

Charles Gurganus

Supporting Actor
How about listing your associated equipment,,,speakers and amp, what source (DVD player cd player), are you using analog inputs to the e9000es or digital? Also, what version is the e9000es running (should be at least 2.01).

First, you should check the toe-in for the speakers. Too much of that will accentuate the brightness. Also, describe your sub etc, do you use small/large settings on the speakers.

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
I'd be directing my investigations toward the speaker placements and taking a good look at the room to see if there are some room/speaker issues that need to addressed. The perception of brightness can be strongly influenced by unwanted reflections.

Kevin C Brown

Senior HTF Member
FWIW, I had the TA-E9000ES for 4 years. I never found it to be "bright"... Very neutral I always thought.

John Royster

Screenwriter
bingo on what chu said.

Try to keep the speakers away from side walls. Play with toe-in.

what's happening lately Chu? We're agreeing on our posts.:D

Simon Ngan

Stunt Coordinator
Hi guys,

Thanks for the replies. Here's what I have for speakers:

ML Aeon as fronts
ML Cinema as center
ML Script as surrounds
ML Descent as sub

All speakers are set to small and they all cross at 80Hz.

And here's the equipment list:

Sony CDP-350 CD Changer
Sony DVP-850 DVD Changer
Panasonic RP-82 DVD Player
Sony TAE-9000ES Pre/Pro
Aragon 2005 5-ch Amp
Sony 34" 16:9 XBR HDTV