What's new

suggestions, 2 channel amp, 350 watts @4 ohms (1 Viewer)

Greg Br

Second Unit
I am looking for a amp to power my SVS subs, I know the Samson is the amp SVS uses but wanted to look at a couple of other options. I am looking for price versus performance in this amp and would like to really push these 350 watt rated subwoofers. I am really a newbie when it comes to amps so any help is greatly appreciated.

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
One of your cheapest options would be the QSC RMX850. 300 wattsx2 at 4ohms for around $299. If you can find one in good shape used you could probably get down to around $200. The next model up is another $100 and ups the power to 450W x 2 at 4ohms. People complain of the fan noise form the QSC amps though.

Another option is the Mackie M800 is 275W x2 and is a little more than the QSC. The next model up from Mackie is 500W x2.

You can also do some looking and see if you can find anything you like from Crown or Crest. That's all I can think of right now. I'm sure some others will throw in some more pro audio amp manufactures names.

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
I don't know if you want to stick with the pro-audio scene or not, I like consumer-look stuff myself.

Look for a bridgeable amp, too. Some offer good output on the cheap.

J

John Morris