What's new

Stereo, 2.0/2.1 -any suggestions?- (1 Viewer)

AndrewLevine

Stunt Coordinator
I'm looking for a good set of stereo speakers with reciever and possibly a sub. Being a college student I have limited means and would like to keep the entire project under or around $1000 retail. In addition, I am employed by a company that would offer me very fair prices on Denon, Yamaha, Definitive Tech, and Boston Acoustics products.

Originally I wanted to purchase a pair of Def Tech PowerMonitor 500s, yet these are no longer available to me.

I'd like to have:
strong/clean bass
high volumes without losing clarity
90% used for music
good sound for a room roughly 20'x15'

My idea was to get:
Denon AVR-1506
Def Tech StudioMonitors (not sure of size)
Def Tech Sub (again, not sure of size)

If anyone has any suggestions that fall into my rather strict parameters (sorry about that), it would be greatly appreciated.

Phil A

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Phil

AndrewLevine

Stunt Coordinator
Phil-
Thanks for your time on looking up products for me. While I appreciate that, I realized I was looking more along the lines of getting bookshelf speakers and a sub. Also I was trying to keep it between Def Tech, Boston Acoustics, Denon and Yamaha.

Thanks again,
Andrew

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
Maybe consider vintage. If you want to rock out, 1970's JBL or Cerwin Vega hooked up to a Kenwood or Pioneer of the same era.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Andrew,

Normally for a room that size I would recommend the model with the 6-1/2” woofer, but given the fact that the Studio Monitors have built-in subs, I’d say it’s safe to go with the smaller 350 model with the 8-inch “sub.” Naturally, they’re more accurately “woofers” than subwoofers, but with the 8-inch driver you’ll have no problem blending well with a powered subwoofer.

Speaking of that, I’d probably go with at least a 12” model.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

AndrewLevine

Stunt Coordinator
Wayne,