Star Wars I: Menace vs. AVIA

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tim Franklin, Nov 12, 2001.

  1. Tim Franklin

    Tim Franklin Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm new to this forum and just this weekend got a Toshiba 65HX81 and want to tweek it. Does the A/V set-up that the THX Star Wars I had me do before watching it do the same thing as the AVIA does????? If not should I be looking for any AVIA dvd or are there different models? TAHNKS IN ADVANCE!!!!
     
  2. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Its a very basic version of what AVIA does. Note that I have heard that if you calibrate your system using THX optimode (which is found on a few other DVD movies like T2 for instance) that they give slightly different results from each other.
    ------------------
    http://webhome.idirect.com/~orange1
    ------------------
    My Favourite DVD's
     
  3. Wil_J

    Wil_J Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    The way I understand it is this. The THX optimode on the DVD itself (Star Wars TPM, or any others) are unique and optimized for that particluar DVD. Avia, or Video Essentials when used set your TV and Audio to the set standard that is used for everything. Generally, Avia or V.E. is the more preferred method.
    Just my $.02........Wil
    ------------------
    My DVD's
    "The rose petal floats on water,
    the kingfisher flashes above the pond.
    Life and beauty swirl in the midst of death."

    al'Lan Mandragoran,
    *******The Wheel of Time
     

Share This Page