Sony's Bristol, PA repair facility fixed 1 thing on my SCD-777ES but broke another

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Rachael B, Mar 7, 2004.

  1. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,709
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    My XA777ES quit reading CD's properly last year. SACD's were unaffected. So, about a month ago I finally decided to send it in for warranty work. Bristol had it for about a month and I got it back yesterday. I sent it in double-boxed. It came back single-boxed and they lost one of the 4 end caps. They stuffed bubble wrap on that side in it's stead. I got the player out, hooked it up and lo and behold it played CD's again.

    Then I decided to test the digital outputs. BONK! Now neither the coaxial or optical digital outputs work. They were just fine before. I've heard alot of horror stories about Bristol. I'm recluctant to send my baby back to the Bristol house of horrors again but I would like it fixed. I'm even considering mod's at this point, maybe? Any suggestions???
     
  2. TomCW

    TomCW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Hi Rachael.
    They may have negelcted to hook a cable back up when they re-assenbled it. If it was me, I'd take the thing apart and look for any loose or mis-seated cable ends. Disconnect the power cord and observe the same ESD precautions you would for a computer upgrade. If you can't find anything wrong, then send it back to them.

    Tom
     
  3. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,709
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    [​IMG] Tom, I may let my technican friend attempt to connect the possible loose cable but I won't. I'm weighing my options...
     
  4. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    These guys constantly get bad reviews for repairing gear. (Remember Keith's MD thread?) I've had good luck with a their service center out here, but can't remember at the moment where it's at. Orange County maybe?
     
  5. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,709
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    Sony's phone centre in India agreed to pay the shipping back to the Bristol House of Horrors. I spent an hour on the phone with an accented dude who tried to tell me that the digital output was turned off and then wanted me to check the other menu options which of course all concern M/C sound. He kept excusing himself briefly to read the manual or ask somebody or somethin'? I kept informing him what the various menu option actually did.

    Kevin, it is tempting to try another service centre but it's a long bumpy ride to Kalafornie. My local tech doesn't want to work on it so it'll proably be Bristol bound. Yes! I remember Keith's MD player's demise, ugh!
     
  6. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dang, even Sony is "offshoring" customer service...
     
  7. Gerard Martin

    Gerard Martin Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Add one more horror story to the bristol Pa plant. I sent a Sony DA5ES to Bristol for repair has told by phone it needed a circuit board replaced instead they sent it back with a note no problem found. I sent it back and they replaced two circuit boards however it came back with different problems, after three trips to Bristol they finally gave up and replaced it with a new DA4ES while a little lower in value at least worked. Might be a good idea to send the Bristol plant to India.
     

Share This Page