What's new

Some Subwoofer insight (1 Viewer)

Greetings, nice site you have here. I've been doing alot of reading here, so much good stuff. I'm pretty new to the HT scene. I put together some components a few years ago, and wanted to add a Subwoofer to my system. I'm really looking for suggestions and information to make an informed decision on what subwoofer to purchase. It will be for HT use (mainly movies) and I'd like to stay under $500. This is my reciever ---> JVC RX-888VBK ,these are my main speakers ---> HLS810 ,and these are my surround speakers ---> FLIX20 . In the mean time I'll keep reading and learning. Thank you for your time.

Martice

Screenwriter
Welcome Thomas. This is the right place to come when you have sub questions. You'll find many people recommending subs from places like Adire Audio, HSU, Acoustic-Visions, SVS and some of the better know companies. What type of sub you get depends on your room size, size restrictions, taste in bass performance and money available to purchase. I personally went with 2 custom subs from Acoustic-Visions but I think you'll find that when it comes to quality subs, the differences are not that great and other things like customer service and looks come into play.

Provide a little more info about your room and tastes and you'll get some of the best feed back on the net.

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
My favorite option. If you have some tools and are willing to take the time and effort to build the enclosure yourself, you'll be amazed at what can be done for less than $500. Savings goes out the window if you have to buy tools though (unless you want and will use the tools for other things).

If it interests you take a look in the DIY/Advanced section and you'll quickly learn the ropes.

Tim Hoover

Screenwriter
Yes, there are many good choices in your price range. If you don't want to go the DIY route, there are three venerable HTF subs and they are:

Adire Rava $399
Hsu VTF-2 $449.10
SVS 25-31 PCi $499