What's new

Confused as to why my surround sound isn't working... (1 Viewer)

cliff harris

Auditioning
Real Name
cliff harris
Hi everyone, I would really appreciate any insight into this problem :D I'm pretty new to home theater stuff, but I am a tech geek (computer coder). anyway...

I have this TV: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00ULYKETW/
This BluRay player: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007QQZODO/
This HT system: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B003H9NHWY/

Originally I had 2 speakers connected to the 'A' speakers input on the onkyo, then I added a subwoofer (which works great), recently I added 2 extra speakers that I wired up to the 'surround sound' connections on the onkyo.
If I play some blu-rays (star trek new movie) I get sound come out of the surround sound speakers. I *think* its correct, but frankly not mind-blowing. In normal TV use, the surround sound speakers emit nothing

My aerial is connected to the TV. My Bluray is connected via HDMI to the TV. The TV is connected via digital optical out to the optical in of the onkyo. I did it this way to avoid sound synch issues that I had with a previous TV.

When I play a 5.1 test video on youtube (i'v tried several) its pretty clear that the surround sound speakers emit sod-all, and instead that sound comes through the old left & right speakers.

What...if anything...am I doing wrong here? Is the HDMI cable taking the Surround Sound audio correctly to my TV? is it getting stuck there and not transfered down my optical? Is a setting wrong on the onkyo? I did notice that *nothing* came out of the SS speakers until I changed the input HDMI socket on the TV from the blu-ray suggesting the HDMI inputs are not all equal...

Any help, suggestions, or even just sympathy is much appreciated :D

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne