What's new

Small Stryke SAE 1204 sub enclosure with PR tuned low? (1 Viewer)

Wes Nance

Stunt Coordinator
Hi,

Still planning my sub enclosure, and am thinking about going with a Stryke SAE 1204 driver, which seems like a really nice piece for the price. I was originally looking at the Shiva, which is also obviously a fine driver.

I have a 14x25 room with an 8' ceiling, so not super big, and I need a small box to have the WAF rating high. I was originally thinking about going with a 54L sealed box, like the Adire reference design, and using the 250W PE amp, with the boost at 20hz or so by 4-6db to help with the rolloff on the bottom. I will be using this sub for music and home theater, and I listen to a lot of classical/orchestral, plus some pop and jazz. I play in an orchestra for a living, so my ears are a bit sensitive there. . .

After messing around in unibox for the first time, now I'm thinking about using a 50l box with a 15" passive radiator, possibly the Adire PR15, weighing in around 1400g, for an fb around 18.5 hz, and an f3 of 33.5hz. Using some bass boost from the amp again, I think I can move the f3 down into the 20's or so.

Does this add up? Is there some downside of using a PR tuned this low? Adire lists the limit at 1500g, so I'm well under it. This sub will be blending in with bookshelf speakers, right now Paradigm Atoms, but I am building a pair and center of MB1's this summer (Dennis Murphy design), which should work a bit better. . .

Any comments or instruction? I'm a total novice, but learning more all the time. I want to do the project in 2 weeks, so I need to order parts.

Thanks for the help!

Wes Nance

Rochester, NY

ps Anyone live in Rochester and have a Shiva sub or something else I could hear?

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member