Second Velodyne Sub

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Carl Gaff, Apr 11, 2002.

  1. Carl Gaff

    Carl Gaff Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looking for a little advice. I'm considering adding a second subwoofer to my home theater system. My sub right now is a newer Velodyne CHT-15 (350 watt amp). I'm not sure if my second sub should be a matching CHT-15 or could I go with a Velodyne 12 inch sub with equal or greater power. What's everyones opinion?
     
  2. James Bergeron

    James Bergeron Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd go with another CHT-15.

    I have 1 of those as well, Awesome sub, How big is your room? Do you really feel you need more bass? All you will really get is a few more spl's on the really low end.

    I was thinking of upgrading to 2 of them but will wait till I "need" it. :)
     
  3. Russell _T

    Russell _T Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a CT 150. I would trade it in for the Hsu VTF-3 before I bought another one. WWW.AV123.com might give you a good buy on it.
     
  4. Carl Gaff

    Carl Gaff Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My room is pretty good sized with cathedral ceilings. The reason I thought of going to the second sub is for a more balanced sound. One in each front corner. I can get a pretty good price on a new one. I thought about a different brand of sub (i.e. HSU) but thought it would be better to stay with the Velodyne so that the sound qualities were the same.
     
  5. JeremySt

    JeremySt Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Jeremy
    Stick with another CHT-15. Calibrate them as though you have 1 sub. I have experimented with two subs. Its great, but experiment with setup to avoid frequency cancellations.
     
  6. James Bergeron

    James Bergeron Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You probably would have to end up stacking them, opposite corners may or may not work.
     
  7. Sonnie Parker

    Sonnie Parker Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd say stack them too. Splitting them up from front to back can cause some nasty phase problems.

    You could sell the CHT and get an HGS-15. I've got around 20,000 cubic feet (considering all my openings and ajacent rooms) and the HGS absolutely does the job. Truly awesome! I could never imagine having 2 of them.
     
  8. John Sully

    John Sully Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 1999
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, I just EQ'd my HGS-15 with a BFD and the setup absolutely rocks. The only drawback to the HGS subs is that they cost $$$$. Really remarkable performers though with a high WAF.
     
  9. Sonnie Parker

    Sonnie Parker Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah John, they are very expensive, although there are some good deals out there if one looks hard enough. The WAF is the main reason I ended up with the HGS-15. I would have liked to try out an SVS but it just didn't fit. No doubt SVS are very good.
    I was also very fortunate to know a dealer that sold me one at a very good price. And I'm very happy! That's what counts the most.[​IMG]
     

Share This Page