SA 4200HD Digital Cable Box Question

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by JohnDPug, Apr 18, 2003.

  1. JohnDPug

    JohnDPug Extra

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Cablevision supplied Scientific Atlanta 4200HD Explorer converter box connected to my Sony KV40XBR700's 1080i inputs. The SA4200 has a settings menu which allows you to select 480i output or 1080i output manually. I generally have it set up with standard 480i output because all but 2 channels are broadcast in 480i. The Sony recongizes the lower resolution and shows the input in the traditional 4:3 ration. However, when I tune to the 2 channels which do broadcast in 1080i (some sports events), it appears as if the box is recognizing the 1080i feed and automatically passing it to the Sony without manipulating the menu (16:9 aspect is preserved). When I manually select 1080i on the box, the only noticeable difference is the grey bars on the top of the Sony turn black.

    There's no mention of this "feature" on the SA web site. Is this too good to be true?
     
  2. Doug_B

    Doug_B Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  3. JohnDPug

    JohnDPug Extra

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  4. Doug_B

    Doug_B Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  5. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't even seen a 4200HD yet, let alone used one, but HD channels are always 16:9, regardless of whether it's showing a true HD broadcast at the time or not. I believe the 4200HD has a 'Zoom' function that you can use to fill the screen in this case.

    When you switch to 1080i output, your TV is indeed showing a 1080i image, but - and I mean you no offence - the TV is probably incapable of showing much resolution beyond 480i. If you look closely at some scenes, I'm sure you'll see the difference, but it won't be night and day.
     
  6. JohnDPug

    JohnDPug Extra

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK...my Sony KV40XBR is a 4:3 screen with 1080i input. Hence the top and bottom bars for 1080i.

    The HD channels on Cablevision do not show HD content all the time. I guess they are not truly HD channels but channels reserved for when MSG or Fox Sports NY is providing HD content.

    The Quick Settings on the 4200HD box were programmed by the installer to output 480i and 1080i.

    I'm still trying to figure out if the 4200HD box senses the 1080i feed and passes it despite having the output from the box manually set to 480i.
     
  7. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you see grey bars top and bottom, then it's not 1080i.
     

Share This Page