What's new

RESIDENT EVIL Questions................MAJOR SPOILERS! (1 Viewer)

Paul_D

Senior HTF Member
I'm new to the series, just finished the Cube version of the first game, and loved every minute of it, but I've got a few questions:
1) The original Playstation/PC version of Resident Evil. How does it differ from the Cube reimagining? With some of the amazing graphical flourishes of the GC version, I can't imagine some of the same segments were present in the original game. I'm tempted to hunt down a copy of the PC version, because I loved it so much!
2) At the end of the game, playing through as Chris, when the Tyrant is strangling Rebecca and you shoot the rocket at him, does Rebecca die? In the ending I saw, the cut-scene didn't feature Rebecca, even though he was holding on to her as the rocket hit. How many different endings are there?
3) In the final battle with Lisa, if Wesker gets knocked off the edge, as he did during one failed attempt to beat her, how does that impact on the plot development? How do you meet the first Tyrant?
4) Why is Code: Veronica so well regarded? Practically every person I speak to says its the best of the series... why? What's the setting and plot behind this installment?
For anyone that can answer these questions, thanks!

Mark Evans

Supporting Actor
Wow, I answered this thread, go figure :D.
1) I wouldn't even bother Paul, the PSOne version is blocky and well recognized as having some of the most howlingly awful dialogue (in an amusing way, natch) ever recorded.
Beyond graphics inadequacies, it doesn't fit as well into the whole Resident Evil mythos quite a well, and it lacks major chunks of the backstory (such as the Trevor's and parts of the Spencer's as well). Uber-scary freak Lisa Trevor is not in the game period, ditto her cabin area.
To be honest I haven't played it in ages, but the graphics in the GC version are such a huge leap up that I can't even picture their counterparts on the PSOne.