remote lighting question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jim McCann, Jan 2, 2002.

  1. Jim McCann

    Jim McCann Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2000
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm currently framing a room for my home theatre equipment and I'm looking at being able to control the lighting via a universal remote control (still looking at various models at the moment). I need advice as to which light switches to purchase.

    I've read briefly about X10 and Lutron but need advice from the professionals here. I'm going to have 3 separate lighting circuits (2 sets of recessed lighting and a sconce lighting circuit - thus 3 separate lighting switches that I would like to control (on/off/dim) via a remote. The 3 switches will be located side by side.

    I don't have a large budget - I saw a Lutron Grafik Eye system today but at $1000 Cdn - too pricey. I was also quoted a Lutron Spacer SPS-600 at $140.00 per switch although Home Depot has a SPS-600-HTH-Wh-C at $68.95. Then there is the X10 Pro XPD3 at $32/switch - much more affordable but X10 has problems from previous threads that I've read.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Regards...Jim
     
  2. Ron Hanson

    Ron Hanson Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 1999
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Grafik eye were you looking at?

    a 2103 should work fine for you.
     
  3. James Mudler

    James Mudler Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jim,

    I am using X-10 and a pronto....no problems here. I am controling seven devices via X-10. Good luck.
     
  4. Jim McCann

    Jim McCann Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2000
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ron,

    I was quoted $1000 Cdn for the GRX-MR-3. As I mentioned, this is overkill in terms of pricing and functionality for what I'm interested in.

    James, specifically, which X10 switches are you using?

    Regards...Jim
     
  5. James Mudler

    James Mudler Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Switches:
    Three of these (over head lights)
    http://www.x10.com/products/x10_ws467.htm
    Two of these (rope lights)
    http://www.x10.com/products/x10_am486.htm
    And one of these (12volt power supply for fans in eq rack)
    http://www.x10.com/products/x10_sr227.htm
    Also this to convert the IR(pronto) to RF (X10)
    http://www.x10.com/products/x10_ir543.htm
    I would say this is the cheap way to go. Better products out there but, man thay are not cheap. Also the "clinking" (On and Off only) is kinda loud. I only use dim and bright commands.
    Number seven is in the garage on my dust collector
    Let me know is I can help in any other way.
     
  6. James Mudler

    James Mudler Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Andy_S

    Andy_S Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been using tons of X10 stuff for over a year now and have no major problems. Occasionally a light may turn on on its own but very rarely. Certainly worth the money! Keep in mind that X10 is a standard and not a brand. IBM, Radio Shack, and a few other companies make X10 compatible products.
    I purchase a lot of my X10 stuff from http://www.asihome.com
    They have fair prices and a good selection.
    The site that has the most X10 products is:
    http://www.smarthome.com/
    They're expensive though but they seem to carry everything.
    One of the best purchases I made was the unit that hooks up to my PC. It lets me create macros and turn lights on/off on a timer (you tell it where you live and it dynamically changes when the lights will turn on/off accourding to the Dusk/Dawn times in your area during the season). Great for porch lights. I used it when I went on vacation to give the house a lived in look. I programmed it to turn lights on and off during certain times. Your PC doesn't need to be hooked up to it for it to work. It has onboard memory and battery back up.
    In my opinion, X10 will give you the most bang for your buck. It's very inexpensive and there's a huge following.
     
  8. Andy_S

    Andy_S Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the kit that I bought:
    http://www.smarthome.com/1142.html
    Comes with the computer module, keychain remote, a lamp module, RF base (picks up the X10 signals and sends them through the electical wires), and X10 remote (it's a basic universal remote. I use it in the bedroom TV up stairs. It's cool to be able to shut off lights I left on without getting out of bed [​IMG])

    Edit:
    Here's a good X10 forum:
    http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...c-x10/list.cgi
     

Share This Page