What's new

Receiver question (1 Viewer)

Zeeshan T

Agent
In my first post i mentioned that i was a beginner and am on a limited budget. I've got the screen, and projector taken care of but i need help on speakers and receiver. I was planning on going with the JBL Northridge speakers. 2 E90 (floorstanding), EC25 (center), E150 (10' sub), and 2 E10 (bookshelf speakers). The rated power on all these are from 200-300 watts max each except the bookshelves which have max power of 100W. My first question is does anyone have these speakers or other similar JBL speakers for their home theater. I listened to them at the bestbuy and i liked how they sounded but I would like to get your opinion on what you think of the sound also. My next and more important question is which receiver should i go with. I was originally going to go with a sony 6.1 but i heard that i could do much better. My price range for the receiver is $500-700. I was thinking either yamaha, H/K, or Onkyo? But i am open to other suggestions. Thanks in advance for the responses.

Drew_W

Screenwriter
JBL builds a solid speaker. And they are owned by Harman Audio, the same company that owns Harman/Kardon, so naturally, the two go hand in hand. Try to see if you can find an AVR7200 kicking around somewhere. That should bring you in towards the upper limit of your price range, but it is a beast of a receiver and will serve you well.

Sony DE (ala Best Buy) = crap.

Ratings are ratings. Suggestions. More power is always good, even when it exceeds the power rating of your speakers. More power = more headroom = cleaner sound (without compression/clipping as limits of amps are reached).

And like I keep telling people. Shop around. Audition till you go crazy. If you take the time to make a well informed decision, you'll be much happier with your investment down the line than if you just go out and impulse buy.

Brad E

Second Unit
Zeeshan,