Question about hookups for TV, DVD & Receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Tracewell, Mar 11, 2002.

  1. Jason Tracewell

    Jason Tracewell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, this is probably a stupid question that I *think* I know the answer to, but I want to confirm it with you professionals [​IMG] Okay, I recently bought a Kenwood Receiver and am thinking about upgrading my TV to include progressive scan so that I can use that feature with my DVD player that has the feature also. Now my question is, on my receiver, it only has imput/outputs for as high as S-cable for video, so in order to hook my DVD player up to the new TV I would have to plug the Progressive scan video from the DVD player straight to the TV but the audio to the receiver.. Will this work? I assume it would, but before I go out and spend a buttload of money, I want to make sure I can use the TV, DVD player & receiver all correctly.. Thanks in advance!
    -Jason
     
  2. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    you're right on the money. [​IMG]
    since your receiver cannot pass component cables, you'll have to run the cables from your dvd player directly to your tv. the audio will go from the dvd player to the audio input on your kenwood.
     
  3. Jerry Wright

    Jerry Wright Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the recommended way to do it Jason for best signal quality. S-Video DVD > S-Video TV. Since you have no composite outs on your DVD this is the next best connection.

    OOps, Was typing while Ted was posting the same answer

    Whoa, another edit. Was thinking component but typed composite. Need a little more coffee.
     
  4. Jason Tracewell

    Jason Tracewell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks you guys! I was wondering if I could do that since both the audio & video wouldn't be going through the same pathway... So, if I hook up the Progressive scan through the tv, set the tv for that mode (ie: A/V 3) and turn on the receiver to dvd/cd, I should get the video through the TV & the audio through the receiver (it's times like these when I'm glad I don't have the really high end equipment, seeing as though I don't have a Masters in electronics [​IMG] ). Then I am probably going to get the TV... Thanks again!
     

Share This Page