What's new

PSB Speakers- 6 Ohms w/ 8 Ohms receiver? (1 Viewer)

Brent_Sch

Stunt Coordinator
I'm pretty new to all this HT stuff and have heard it's best to go with 8 Ohms speakers for HT. I have been hearing good things about PSB and was wondering is it problem that they're 6 Ohms and not 8 ohms? I would be pairing them with a Kenwood VR505 reciever.
The speakers that I'm interested in from PSB are the Alpha A/V and possibly the Minis for surrounds if not A/V all around. Can someone tell me how they peform and how you like them. I hear they are comapreable to Polk. I would like to hear how they compare to Polk because Polk speakers are easier for me to get and might be the other route I consider.
The room my speakers will go in is small, it's about 12x12.
Thanks for your insight! :D

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
As far as the ohms are concerned, you will be fine. Just keep an eye on the heat - REALLY cheap amps in a receiver will get hot / not tolerate low ohm speakers.

Be careful if you listen to loud music for long periods. HT will be fine.

Brent_Sch

Stunt Coordinator
I plan on using whatever speakers I get for about 50/50 music and HT. Would it be a problem if I want to do this with the PSB 6 Ohms speakers?

What exactly would you consider a "long periods" of time? I will often pop in a music CD and let it play through. Would that be too rough on those speakers and the amp in my receiver?

Thaks for your input!

KrisM

Second Unit
I wouldn't worry about the 6 ohms, Brent. I use the Alpha A/Vs for my surround speakers and am very happy with them. I'm not familiar with the Polks though.

KrisM

Neil Weinstock

Stunt Coordinator
I have a hard time imagining that any decent quality receiver will ever have trouble with 6 ohm speakers.