PS2 Games in AC3?

Christopher Chung

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jul 28, 2001
Messages
201
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Does anyboy know if there are any games in Dolby Digital 5.1 or Dolby Pro Logic? I know that actual game play can't be in DD but shouldn't some of the movie scenes?
Thanks guys
Chris
 

Joel Mack

Cinematographer
Joined
Jun 29, 1999
Messages
2,317
Reaction score
0
Points
0
"The Bouncer" has it's cutscenes done in DD 5.1, but I don't know about any other games.
------------------
"The internet is a place where people from all over come together to
bitch about movies and share pornography."
 

Christopher Chung

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jul 28, 2001
Messages
201
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Thanks Joel. I might want to check that one out to see if it really makes an impact or not.
Any future releases you know of?
Chris
 

Dean DeMass

Screenwriter
Joined
Jun 30, 1997
Messages
1,826
Reaction score
0
Points
0
NHL 2002 is in DTS, and I do mean the gameplay. I am sure ther will be more game coming out eventually in 5.1 sound.
-Dean=
------------------
My HT Equipment
"I've seen you and you are not cool."
 

Morgan Jolley

Lead Actor
Joined
Oct 16, 2000
Messages
9,284
Reaction score
213
Points
9,110
The Bouncer has several 5.1 cinema sequences, and I think another game or two has some.
EA has two games (someone said one of them above, the other is SSX Tricky) that will have DTS real-time.
 

Richard_T

Second Unit
Joined
May 5, 2000
Messages
311
Reaction score
0
Points
110
Doesn't Klonoa 2 have a 5.1 selection in it's options menu? I think it does but I may be wrong. Spy Hunter has a "surround" option as well but I'm not sure if it's prologic or DD.
 

Morgan Jolley

Lead Actor
Joined
Oct 16, 2000
Messages
9,284
Reaction score
213
Points
9,110
If Klonoa 2 has a 5.1 option, its just for cinemas, not the actual gameplay.
Surround is different from 5.1. N64 games have surround, so its not exactly anything new.
 

Scott L

Producer
Joined
Feb 29, 2000
Messages
4,457
Reaction score
1
Points
110
Extreme G 3 has DPL. Sounds great but still wish it were DD/dts.
 

Stephen_Opipari

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 22, 2000
Messages
144
Reaction score
0
Points
10
Real Name
Stephen
I believe that Final Fantasy X will be full Dolby Digital 5.1. I hope they start bringing out a lot more DD5.1 games so that I can put that digital input to better use.
 

Morgan Jolley

Lead Actor
Joined
Oct 16, 2000
Messages
9,284
Reaction score
213
Points
9,110
Final Fantasy X isn't full 5.1. The movie scenes are 30fps with surround, and the game is also surround. When you unlock a theater mode thing (its actually a movie theater in the game) you can rewatch the cinemas in 5.1 at 24 fps.
NHL 2002 is the first 5.1 real-time PS2 game. Thats final.
 

Bill Arthur

Auditioning
Joined
Sep 4, 2001
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Batman Vengeance that comes out tomorrow, i think. Regardless, it is 5.1, but i think only in the cutscenes. I remember reading that it would be impossible (?) to do 5.1 for the ingame, but it's easier to do DTS for in game, like NHL 2002 has, which it does throughout...
 

Mike_G

Screenwriter
Joined
Jun 1, 2000
Messages
1,477
Reaction score
15
Points
0
Real Name
Mike
Final Fantasy X isn't full 5.1. The movie scenes are 30fps with surround, and the game is also surround. When you unlock a theater mode thing (its actually a movie theater in the game) you can rewatch the cinemas in 5.1 at 24 fps.

Morgan, you wrote this in October, and in fact the credits have something like "AC-3 Engineer", but I have my PS2 set up for optical output and I cannot get DD out of FF X in any way, shape, or form. I went to Luca, played the cutscenes, and they're in PCM Stereo. There was another thread here where I THINK we determined that the US version doesn't have DD 5.1 at all.

Has ANYONE ACTUALLY gotten DD out of FFX or any other game? Don't reply unless you're 100% sure.

My PS2 plays DD and DTS movies just fine (Pioneer VSX-608 has an indicator stating what audio stream is coming in). The PS2 games are in PCM stereo only, and my XBox is in DD, so I know the setup is right.

Mike
 

PouyaG

Agent
Joined
Feb 6, 2001
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I read - somewhere - that Square actually took out DD 5.1 for the cut-scenes in the US version.
 

Arthur Legardo

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 21, 1999
Messages
441
Reaction score
0
Points
110
Real Name
ArthurL
Metal Gear Solid 2 has the opening cut-scenes (as far as I know) in 5.1
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
343,721
Messages
4,687,943
Members
141,016
Latest member
Liuskor