PR versus porting.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by steve nn, Aug 13, 2002.

  1. steve nn

    steve nn Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I never have experienced a sub with PR,s for vents. Is there a difference in sound compared to a sub that is ported?
     
  2. Jack Gilvey

    Jack Gilvey Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 1999
    Messages:
    4,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not really, except for less compression and/or port noise.
     
  3. steve nn

    steve nn Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Jack. I am still undecided on how to vent. I guess if I go with the new Adire, I will go with the PR to keep from having to go with a 4-6 ft. tall enclosure.
     
  4. Jack Gilvey

    Jack Gilvey Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 1999
    Messages:
    4,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hope this isn't too semantic, but there's only one way to "vent", and that's a port. A reflex cabinet can include ports or passives as resonators, though.
     
  5. steve nn

    steve nn Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Jack. I seem to be corrected every other question lately. I have been reading up on DIY subs lately but still can't seem to get any- " well very little " of the terminology down. I am a hands on learner. Thanks for the correction.
     
  6. Jack Gilvey

    Jack Gilvey Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 1999
    Messages:
    4,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My pleasure...we're all here to learn. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page