What's new

polk speaker newbie owner needs receiver -please advise (1 Viewer)

Raa Vango

Auditioning
Hello

I am a newbie and NOT an audiophile. I was in the market for a HT sytem and I bought a Polk speaker system from our local audio store because it was on a good deal and the sales guy was raving about it. That is how much I know.

The speaker package is

2 Polk Monitor 30s
2 Polk Monitor 40s
One Center Channel Polk CS1
One Polk PSW10 Subwoofer

Can you audio gurus kindly suggest on the following

1 - What receiver should I buy to drive these speakers. It is 5.1 now but I will try to expand later. 5.1 receivers are fine but 6.1 or 7.1 suggestions are also welcome. Please suggest a high end and low end receiver if you can!

2 - Also, should I replace any components of the above package with an upgrade in speakers, center or subwoofer to get better quality. (I can always sell the above components individually because they came in individual boxes)

I live in an apartment, the TV room is 18x18 but 22x22 if I include the dining room and kitchen which are kind of combined with this living room.

I am looking for a good value receiver but if you think there is going to be a quality difference and long term value please suggest high end stuff also. If not something in the same range as the above speaker system would be fine.

Thanks a lot for your help! I promise to contribute when I become an expert on this stuff.

Personally, I've always liked Marantz and Denon receivers, though Yamaha also makes some fine sounding equipment. It would be helpful if I knew what kind of music/movies you typically listen to or watch, how loud you like things to be, and your budget. But I'll take a stab in the dark anyway.

I'd check out the Marantz SR-5600 or the Denon AVR-1906 (around $500 to $550); or if you can stretch the budget a bit more, the Marantz SR-6400 or Denon AVR-2106.