1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Plate Amp Help

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tyler, Jun 10, 2001.

  1. Tyler

    Tyler Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm thinking of using a plate amp but i dont know how to switch it into a 4 ohm load for use with a shiva.
    Can any one help me out please.
    Thanks
     
  2. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,788
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    The impedance is determined by how you hook up the Shiva driver. To get a 4 ohm load with the Shiva, you have to connect the 2 voice coils in parallel, that will present the amp with a nominal 4 ohm load.
    You don't necessarily have to tell the amp you are hooking up a 4 ohm load to it, it'll know by the extra current demanded by the driver.
    ------------------
    PatCave; HT Pix; Gear; DIY Mains; DIY CC; Sunosub I + II + III; DVDs; LDs
     
  3. Tyler

    Tyler Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Patrick.
    So can i use a norimal stereo amp and hook it up in a 4 ohm load and the amp would be ok ?
     
  4. Dustin B

    Dustin B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2001
    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Depends on the normal stereo amp. The majority won't be rated for 4 ohm loads. A few of the higher end ones won't necessarily be rated for 4 ohm, but won't have a problem with it. Unless the amp is rated for handling a 4ohm load, I'd be careful.
     

Share This Page