What's new

Pioneer VSX-D850S vs. D811S and speakers... (1 Viewer)

JeffreyG

Agent
I am new to HT and my wife has given me permission to look

I was looking at these 2 recievers. I can get the 850 for $257 and a open box D811 for $299. What is the difference and the better buy?

Also, I was looking for a inexpensive satellite speaker system...was looking at JBL 150 set up...any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks for any help!

George Tong

Auditioning
Jeffrey,
I am actually in the same dilemma you are in. I'm just starting my first HT system.
To answer your question in regards to what receiver. From looking at the specs on the 850 and the 811 , I say both receivers are basically the same with a few differences. I personally went with the 850. I know it's currently going out the door, but I would say thats a pretty good price on a fairly nice receiver. I'm usually hesitant on purchasing big OB items at stores, you don't know for what reason it was returned.
I can't comment on the JBL's that you mentioned since I haven't listened to them.

AdamO

Grip
I own the VSX-D811S and am very satisfied with it. Within the $300-400 price range you can’t find a better receiver. The major difference I see between the VSX-850S and VSX-D811S is 6.1 and some of the other single processing (The VSX-805S is already out of date without 6.1 decoding).
VSX-D811S:
* Crystal Digital Signal Processing
* DTS-ES Discrete 6.1 Decoding
* DTS NEO 6: Music & Cinema Surround Decoding
* Dolby Digital EX 6.1 Surround Decoding
* Pro-Logic II Music & Movie Surround Decoding
* 96kHz/24-Bit Digital to Analog Conversion
* 5 Advanced Surround Modes
* Expanded 6.1
* 6-Channel Stereo
* Music
* Movie
* Virtual Surround Back
* Midnight Mode
VSX-850S:
* Crystal and AK Digital Signal Processing
* DTS 5.1
* Dolby Digital
* Pro-Logic Surround Decoding
* DTS/ES Compatible
* 6 Acoustic Environment DSP's
* Hall 1
* Hall 2
* Jazz
* Dance
* Theater 1
* Theater 2
* 5/6-Channel Stereo
* Advanced Theater Modes
* Drama