Pioneer VSX-D850S vs. D811S and speakers...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JeffreyG, Jul 13, 2002.

1. JeffreyG

JeffreyG Agent

I am new to HT and my wife has given me permission to look [​IMG]
    I was looking at these 2 recievers. I can get the 850 for $257 and a open box D811 for $299. What is the difference and the better buy?
    Also, I was looking for a inexpensive satellite speaker system...was looking at JBL 150 set up...any thoughts or suggestions?
    Thanks for any help!

2. Paul Clarke

Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

I prefer the 850 over the 811. And Jand R.com has the JBL NSP-1 set for $199 delivered, I believe. Great entry level stuff. Then you could pick up a JBL PB10 sub or even cheaper the Sony SA-WM40 and stuff it with polyfill.

I know there's a big Wife Acceptance Factor that goes into these things but I think you'll appreciate the NSP1 speaker set better than the 150 set.

Good Luck.

3. ThomasL

ThomasL Supporting Actor

Jeff, do you have a specific budget in mind for either receiver or speaker purchases?