PC- Official Civ III patch coming out end of the week..

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jay H, Dec 4, 2001.

  1. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    CivFanatics Forum link
    Jeff from Firaxis posted that on the CivFanatics forum... hopefully it'll fix some of the bugs and minor issues in the game...
    Stay tuned fellow HTF Civ III players.
    Finally after getting my new 1.0gig AMD machine up and running I started a nice sized Pangaea with 6 other civs and its nice and fast... stable too.
    Jay
     
  2. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    good for you Jay!
     
  3. Kenneth

    Kenneth Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    That will be nice. I didn't run into any of the bugs that others encountered but I definitely would like to see a reduction in the corruption levels. I had been away from Civ III for awhile while I played Return to Castle Wolfenstein. However, I switched back while I wait for my RAM upgrade (upgrading to 512MB) and GeForce 3 Ti200 video card.

    Kenneth
     
  4. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    Hey Kenneth, I'm asking for RtCW for xmas (if you've seen my thread on that below)... I guess we have similar gaming tastes [​IMG]
    The one big bugfix I'm looking to is the Air suppiority bug. Fighter planes are supposed to engage enemy bombers in their zone of control however somehow doesn't always work. Corruption will probably be toned down too. There should be a readme.txt file posted that will hopefully explain what the fixes are going to be...
    Right now I'm playing the Greeks..
    Thanks Kelley, it's been about a full month now.. [​IMG]
    Jay
     
  5. Jeff Peake

    Jeff Peake Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 1998
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone else noticing the problem that selecting PANGEA type maps always give you CONTINENTAL maps. I have never been able to play pangea......what gives.
     
  6. Chris Bardon

    Chris Bardon Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any word on what will be changed by the patch?
     
  7. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    Jeff, in the 3 or 4 games I played before I upgraded PC's I've never had a problem with Pangaea worlds.. They would have a few "satellite" islands but for the most part you and your enemies start on the same "continent".

    Chris: no, nothing official, just a lot of speculation. Look for that Readme.txt file that may be posted on CivFanatics later on, that should list what's going to be in the patch or so....

    Jay
     
  8. Kenneth

    Kenneth Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    Cool, thanks, I haven't been checking the forums there that much, been to busy getting my PC to run. Looks like they fixed the Air Superiority problem and a bunch of other bugs I heard about.
     
  10. Travis Hedger

    Travis Hedger Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1998
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jay, I heard that someone was able to do this over on Ars-Technica.

    Basically he would keep asking every single turn for 9999999 Gold. The rival Civ would keep denying the request but would eventually get tired of it and give in. He stated it took 25-30 turns for it to work.
     
  11. Jeff Faith

    Jeff Faith Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jay, thanks for the heads up!
    I guess I will be losing some more sleep this weekend! [​IMG]
     
  12. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    Interesting, my next question is how did the AI even get enough money to pay the guy? [​IMG]
    Just kidding, an obvious bug, wonder if the number was so large as to appear negative if stored as a signed integer value, no way on earth could anybody afford to pay out that kind of dough per turn, although it reminds me of the money cheat in SimCity 2000 where you can set taxes to like -1 or something like that and get gazillion money per round...
    P.S. I check the firaxis patch site and no patch so far...
    Jay
     
  13. Kenneth

    Kenneth Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    The patch is up on www.civ3.com Looks like I will get to give it a run through tonight. It is 7.3MB though [​IMG]
    Kenneth
     
  14. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    Thanks Ken, I got an email from civfanatics saying its up.. I'm registered there.. That's one big patch, I wonder if it'll affect my saved games cause I've got a game in progress right now...

    Shall check it out soon...

    Jay
     
  15. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    IMPORTANT notice for v1.16f patch
    I got this this morning in my inbox regarding that patch from Firaxis:
     

Share This Page