Overscan settings: Can this be done?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Michael Weingar, Jan 2, 2003.

  1. Michael Weingar

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it possible to set overscan independantly per input on a wega kv32fv300? If I set overscan with avia using video 4 on the set, it affects all inputs. I would like to set overscan independantly for video 2 for a PS2 that is causing underscan. Somebody please tell me this can be done and how to do it. And yes, I have gone through the aspect ration options on the game consol itself. This is not helping. It is not a ratio problem. I can tell the only way to get rid of the lines is going to be adjusting the the overscan. I really don't want to change the settings affecting the DVD input. Thanks everyone!
     
  2. Ryan Leemhuis

    Ryan Leemhuis Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem. If I set the DVD near perfect in the service menu, the Gamecube does not use the full screen. So when I stretch the Gamecube it causes the DVD to stretch too far. I just accepted that this was the best I could possibly do. At first, I thought it might be possible to independently set the values for each input as, when in the service menu, it says what input you are on. But it appears to changes every input. Sorry.
     
  3. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Game systems like PS2 intensionally have games underscanned ... aka window boxed.

    This means less programming and an image that will fit most everyone's TV without overscan cutting off some part of the image.

    Regards
     
  4. Michael Weingar

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So basically what your telling me is that because my Wega actually does not have some enormous amount of overscan(5%), like many cheaper tv's (with overscan of about 7-10%) like a teenagers old handme down tv per say a playstation would be in theory hooked up to, therefore, I am seeing (no pun intended) where the playstation cut corners in the pixel info/enginearing the games. Someone else here suggested this to some extent as well.Well, I guess, i will have to live with it, because my DVD picture takes the front burner while the PS2 takes the side stage. Bummer though![​IMG]
     
  5. Michael Weingar

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh by the way, the term window box You used, it would lead me to believe that i should have 2 lines on the side if they are indeed supposed to be borders correct? Then why do I only have a black border on the left side and a small one on the top, My HPOS on the wega, according to the avia disc is dead on. Thanks again. By the way, what size is your TV Ryan?
     
  6. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    The PS2 game window is often not centered properly as well.

    Yet another of those little issues.

    Regards
     
  7. Ryan Leemhuis

    Ryan Leemhuis Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    24"
     
  8. John-Miles

    John-Miles Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yet another example of why SONY is evil... [​IMG] just kidding. i must say this problem really bothers me as well, i ahve to set about 7% overscan to keep my PS2 image good.
     

Share This Page