OTA HDTV on a Toshiba 56H80

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Thomas W, Oct 28, 2002.

  1. Thomas W

    Thomas W Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    My two year old Toshiba 56H80 is supposed to natively display 480i, 480p, and 1080i. I want to purchase (for OTA use)the Samsung SIR-T151 set top box that outputs 480i, 480p, 720p, and 1080i. If the Samsung receives and outputs a 720p signal, what will my TV do with the 720p signal? Will it convert it to 480p or 1080i? Can I only use the set top box to receive and output the signals that my TV will accept? Can the set top box receive a signal in 720p and then convert it to something that my TV will accept? I'm a bit confused about what box is doing what!
     
  2. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    If the STB sends the TV a 720P signal, the TV displays garbage. It is not 720P compatible.

    Regards
     
  3. Thomas W

    Thomas W Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply Michael.

    If the STB receives a 720p signal can it only output a 720p signal to my TV? Or can I change the output to something that my TV can read?
     
  4. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know about that particular box, but the vast majority will convert 720p to 1080i to be output to sets that won't accept 720p. AVS forum has a very active HD hardware section, you might check over there.
     
  5. JoeyT

    JoeyT Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    My old Toshiba 50h82 worked great with the samsung 151 ota stb.

    I believe the default output was 1080i. It looked so good I did not bother trying to change it to another resolution.

    Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page