1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

OTA HDTV Converter

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by efren, Feb 22, 2002.

  1. efren

    efren Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How many channels do you get in your area? Is it worth buying it now or wait when more channels are broadcasting HD?
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,333
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    We are only getting WMC-TV in digital right now. They started their digital broadcast with the Olymics opening ceremony. The rest of the stations should be broadcasting by May 1 unless they have filed for an extension with the FCC.

    -Robert
     
  3. Bill Slack

    Bill Slack Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I consider it well worth it.

    I get four OTA channels (CBS,ABC,NBC and Fox[480p]) plus HD-HBO and HDnet via DirecTV. PBS, UPN and WB are on the way around here. The receiver + dish + install kit only cost me $550...

    When I bought the equipment it was just ABC and CBS + the satelittle stuff, and I still thought it was worth it.
     
  4. Michael Mathius

    Michael Mathius Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2000
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Once you see HDTV in your home you will say it was definately worth it. I paid $1000 for the my first USSB/DTV STB in 1996 so paying $500 for the Sony SATHD100 was quite a deal.

    I have DTV so I get HDNET 199 and HBO 509. For OTA I get PBS 2.1, 2.3, CBS 4.1, FOX 7.1 and ABC 10.1 in South Florida.

    My wife now hates watching anything that's not on HDTV.

    One thing that I found very amusing was that I had to install an outdoor antenna to get OTA.
     

Share This Page