ole32.dll error

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Mike LS, May 18, 2004.

  1. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got a Win98 system that will boot fine until the first programs start to load (virus protection) and I get a "this program has performed an illegal operation" and the error points to the ole32.dll file. This is the case when any program is opened. Win Explorer included.

    Any way of getting this system back up? Even temporarily?
     
  2. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to somewhere like www.dll-files.com and download a new copy of that file. Then go into your system folder (this should show up in the errors) and copy the new file into the system folder.

    The system folder will probably be something like C:/Windows/System

    Good luck.
     
  3. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Already tried that. I guess there's something machine specific about that .dll file? The original file on the system was about 700k and the one I downloaded was 1.1mb. It didn't like the different file......
     
  4. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you made any changes to the system recently such as installing updates or service packs?
     
  5. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, it's a system here at work...not mine so I can't say for 100%, but I was told no changes had been made recently, so I'm going on that.
     
  6. Bob Graz

    Bob Graz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have something like configsafe on your system that allows you to go back to previous snapshots of your system and do a re-load of those configuration files. Configsafe has bailed me out of problems on numerous occasions.
     
  7. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I wound up doing a registry rollback (something I saw on microsoft.com) and that fixed the problem. It rolled back to about 6 months ago, so it required reinstalling a couple of programs, but other than that (and the problem below) it's back in business.

    Now I can't get online with it. It shows up on the network and can be accessed that way. I can also browse the network from that machine with no problem, but I cannot access the internet.

    I've removed and re-added most network components and still can't get online. What is the deal when I can browse the network and not the internet? Again I'm dealing with Win98.
     

Share This Page