Old Toshiba CZ27V51 television

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Mike*HIN, Jul 8, 2003.

  1. Mike*HIN

    Mike*HIN Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all,

    Been reading here off and on for a few months just never posted. So please forgive me if this info is posted elsewhere. I looked around but there is a lot of info here!

    I got a 1999 model Toshiba television, model CZ27V51. It's my primary television. I'm not huge into home theater as I don't have too much money so that is the reason I have an older set. I also use a Toshiba SD-V290 DVD/VCR via component (Colorstream in Toshiba terms) video. That combo unit is a new model that replaced an aging SD-1600. Dolby Digital is from a just as old Sherwood, can't recall it's model.

    A couple of weeks ago I finally found out how to get into the Service and Design menus. I have written down all the default values. I did a search on this forum for info on that particular Toshiba television and didn't come up with much except for some posts from a moderator here who has that set as his bedroom tv. I didn't expect to find even that much since this is an "old" set by todays standards.

    I wanted to get into the service menu as this set has always been a bit too red for what I want. I fixed that just fine. The part I have not been able to fix is the horizontal overscan. There is a setting called "WID" in the service menu that doesn't do anything at all. I fixed the vertical overscan just fine.

    Does anyone know by chance if there is another setting in the service or design menu on how to fix this? I've searched quite a bit over the net and found some references to others with this model where "WID" does nothing.

    Maybe the moderator here who has this set in his bedroom can shed some light on this? And maybe if they or someone else has any recommendations for settings on this particular model.

    Thanks in advance for your help!

    --Mike
     
  2. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My forays into the set's service menu are limited to collapsing the scanning-line raster. And I received the codes and instructions for this from a fellow member and colleague, almost four years ago, who (I think) still has a CZ27V51 as his bedroom set as well. Quite frankly, I enjoy my CZ27's picture quality tremendously—so much so that I've not the slightest desire to unpack a brand-new Panasonic 27-inch set I received for free over the holidays.
     
  3. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Sometimes certain parameters in the menu do nothing. It happens. There are no other parameters that will squeeze the image for you.

    This stuff cannot be called in for warranty work either since there is no way you can know that this parameter was "defective" since you were never supposed to be in there.

    Regards
     
  4. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,749
    Likes Received:
    480
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    I'll check when I get home tonight.
     
  5. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mr. Sun, btw, is that fellow member and colleague!
     
  6. Mike*HIN

    Mike*HIN Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the replies. Glad to know someone out there does remember this old television set.

    I have calibrated it using the Video Essentials DVD that I got long ago. The set looks pretty good on the test patterns. But when I go to watch tv via my satellite dish the picture is a bit too dark for what I would like so I bump up the contrast and/or brightness just a little. I also, despite what the VE disc says, turn up the sharpness a little too.

    What I have noticed is that the settings I make from what VE tells me look pretty good when viewing DVD's. Probably since that is going thru component video. When I switch to the composite input where the satellite dish goes, the colors are different. I'm guessing the adjustments made thru the standard on screen menus are different for each input?
     
  7. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,749
    Likes Received:
    480
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    The WID parameter did nothing for my TV either, so I don't really know what other parameter should be used to change the horizontal width of the displayed video/picture.

    You might want to try setting the composite input using VE with the DVD player connected to the composite input, and see if that helps with satellite as the video input source.
     

Share This Page