What's new

old preamp compatable with stand alone processor? (1 Viewer)

Nathan Cook

Agent
Is it possible to connect an old preamp, say one from the 70's, up to a standalone processor? Im attempting to put together a satisfying yet budget orieted music/theater system.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Sure you can connect it. Just find some empty plugs and hook it up. :D
Obviously we need a little more info on what you’re trying to do, Nathan.
Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

BruceD

Screenwriter
Nathan,
As Wayne indicated, it's no problem.
I've been doing exactly the same for the last 3 years, and it has worked flawlessly. Here's how:
1) Take the L&R analog outputs from the processor and route them to any L&R AUX inputs on the 70's preamp. Then route the 70's preamp L&R outputs to the L&R inputs of the amp (stereo, or 2 mono-blocks, or multichannel).
2) Take the center and L&R surround processor outputs and route them to the amp inputs (2 stereo, or 3 mono-blocks, or multichannel) then route the processor sub-out to the powered sub.
System Calibration
This requires a slightly different mode of operation to get the best out of your system, a remote for the stereo preamp is helpful, but not required.
Since the various inputs to the 70's preamp may have different levels, i.e. they require different volume level positions to output the same SPL, you will need to adjust the 70's preamp volume control to a specifically marked position when using it for HT.
To locate this marked position simply means using the radio shack SPL meter and a calibration DVD (VE or AVIA) to calibrate the front L&R speakers to the reference level on the test DVD. You do this by adjusting the 70's preamp volume control.