What's new

OK, so Ive decided on a receiver, next question... (1 Viewer)

Mark JM

Agent
HOW DO I USE IT???? Actually I've just read a lot of GREAT info on Vince's newbie link, thanks for all that participated...
OK, lets say today I've decided on the Denon 3802/1082 for my HT. This is what I got out of reading the newbie link...and please bear with me, I have no tech knowledge at all...
- 5.1 seems to be the standard, at least the greatest # of DVD's are formatted in 5.1
- DTS tracks are offered by a FEW companies, but many major's have refused to go to DTS as it takes up more space on a disc than they are willing to give up at the cost of video performance
- 6.1 is available in very select releases.
- 7.1 releases are not available at all, and probably wont be for some time
With this being said, what will I use things like DTS-ES Discrete 6.1, ES Matrix 6.1, and NEO 6 for...is this built in technology anticipating future advances in DVD audio production, or did I miss a chapter in the newbie section and will I have to remediate??
On a more practical note, how will I know which format to use when running a dvd, will the case say "formatted in DD 5.1, or DTS 5.1, 6.1 etc....
I have been reading/researching AVS and here for a couple of months now and I have to admit I'm become the poster child for the saying "A little knowledge is dangerous...":rolleyes:
Thanks for listening!
Mark

greg_t

Screenwriter
First, DTS has become quite common now and is offered on more titles than ever before and even entry level receivers include DTS capability.

I also don't feel that DTS ES and Dolby digital EX has caught on and there haven't been a whole lot of titles use it. However, several new recievers are offering it for a good price. For example, Yamaha has introduced 5 new receivers this month, and even the cheapest one ($299, I think) has DTS ES, DD EX, and Pro logic 2.