What's new

Review/Comparison: HTD Level 3 / Onix and Premier Acoustics (1 Viewer)

Luis Gabriel Gerena

Second Unit
NOTE:
After much consideration and Mr Clack's approval, I have decided to post my review here as well.

Greetings!
First of all I want to apologize for the many delays but this was much time consuming than what I thought. I wanted to make sure that I had enough time with each speaker to have a solid opinion. So...lets start shall we?

Disclaimer
I dont claim to be an audiophile or anything like that but I have been involved with music since I can remember. I started playing the acoustic guitar when I was 5 thanks to my dad. Later I started playing piano (not a lot) and finally started to do what I love the most professionaly...sing! I travel with a very famous latin band and experienced live percussion, trumpets, sax, etc...during rehersal and the actual shows to really know how those instruments sound.
In any case, sound is very subjective so my experience here should not be taken as the final word on this speakers and their performance. I will always recommend to try for yourself but since thats not always possible..well here is my very own humble opinion.

Equipment:

Receiver: Harman Kardon AVR-635
DVD/CD Player: Toshiba HD-A1 and Computer (X-FI Fatal1ty)
Radio Shack SPL and AVIA
Music used for evaluation:
*Mostly latin music which will be specified later on
*Drawn to the Rhythm by Sarah Mclachlan
*The Gentleman who Fell Milla Jovovich
*DTS Bass Test (Techno)
*Star Wars Intro and Ending theme
*King Kong HD
*Batman HD (Dolby TrueHD)
*Fast and the Furious HD
*Italian Job HD
*Plus others
Companies participating
I want to thank all 3 companies willing to do this. Its nice to see companies so confident on their products. Special thanks to Mark Schifter for sending me the X-SLS, I feel honored.

*HTD
*Onix (av123)
*Premier Acoustics

Speakers Tested
HTD
HTD LEVEL 3 Center $179
HTD LEVEL 3 TOWER $699/pr

Premier Acoustics
PA-6F $299.00/pr