What's new

Newbie planning surround sound (1 Viewer)

therris

Auditioning
Real Name
Jason
Hello all. I'm a newbie to the forum and to home theater stuff. My wife got me this receiver for my b-day:

Amazon.com: Sony STRDG720 7.1 Audio Video Receiver - Black: Electronics

I'm wanting to get a 7.1 system going with it. Not a full blown ht as I'm still using my 27" crt with a plain ol dvd player. My wife is a clutter hawk, so I'm looking more at in-wall or in-ceiling speakers. First question is how does sound from these speakers compare to typical stand-alones?

Also, we live in a small townhouse. Here's an image of our plan with my proposed speaker placement (red), tv (blue) and primary sitting (green). The shaded area is what I'm wanting to fill with sound. Ceilings are 10'. Carpet in family room, linoleum in kitchen/breakfast. Drywall throughout. Center channel will be below or above tv. Would in-wall or in-ceiling be best or does it matter?

I'm leaning more toward the ceiling since the front and back walls are shared (don't want to bother the neighbors too much). Also leaning more toward HTD due to the price. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

chuckg

Supporting Actor
I have questions...

Are you permitted to put holes in the walls and ceilings in a townhome? If there is even the slightest question, you should opt for regular speakers, which usually have better sound anyway.

How about running wires? Can you put them in the wall? If not, then there is no decent way to do in-wall speakers.

Have a look around the nearest home-do-it-yerself store: there are lots of options for hiding wires on the wall. A small amount of clutter is unavoidable!

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Ceilings are one of the worst places to put speakers. It can be done, but if given a choice, in-walls are better. If it comes down to in-ceiling vs those cute little cube speakers, go for the in-ceiling.