Need real Basic Help

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tony Kloosterma, Jan 24, 2002.

1. Tony Kloosterma

Tony Kloosterma Auditioning

My first post, I apologize in advance if this has been covered a zillion times (which it probably has) I tried to search for these answers but had no luck so please bear with me.

First off I am very very new to this home theatre thing.

I bought a setup on recommendation from my nephew.

I have a 43" Hitachi 43gx10b and a Kenwood Home Theatre system DVT 505, this is connected to an RCA satelite. I have an older (no s video jacks) Hitachi VCR (very basic)

First a basic (maybe dumb question) What does the S video cable do? Do I need to run coax from my sat to my reciever and to my tv if i use s video cables?

Second, how do i wire the reciever to everything so i get the TV sound through the Kenwood reciever, I think I have tried every concievable way to run the wires, but i must be missing something simple.

I wish my nephew hadn't gone on Vacation the day before my purchase, he is supposedly a wiz at this, but he ain't here for a week and I want to enjoy now.

I do have some s video cables and various gold plated home theatre cable.

I do appreciate this forum being here, and any help anyone can offer.

thanks in advance.

Tony

2. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer

3. Greg_R

Greg_R Screenwriter

Greg
    Are you trying to watch cable/Dish or OTA (over the air) broadcasts? Describe the audio & video connections on your receiver, TV, & other equipment (cable box, etc.)...

4. Tony Kloosterma

Tony Kloosterma Auditioning

Thanks Vince

the tv does have s video jacks and yes i get my signal from the satelite (the reciever is a rca)

so lets see if i have this right

i run s video cable from sat to reciever? and then s video from reciever to tv (still confused if i run a coax cable from here still with an s video cable as well, can i use one or otheror do i need to use both)